Arrested and Charged
Defendants who are ultimately convicted pay these charges incurred before conviction


Court filing fees

$77 for speeding 1-10 mph over the limit

$98 for all other traffic fines

$93 for misdemeanor

$103 for felony

$433 for misdemeanor DUI

$433 for felony DUI

Other fees

$20 court reporter fee

$30 jury request fee

$10 lengthy trial fund fee

$6 law library fee

$25 Oklahoma Court Information System revolving fund fee

$5 Oklahoma court-appointed special advocate fee

$2 Council on Judicial Complaints revolving fund fee

$9 fee for Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training

$11 courthouse security fee

$3 child abuse multidisciplinary account fee

$35 bond filing fee

$10 medical expense liability revolving fund fee.

$5 fingerprinting fee

$3 Attorney General victims services unit fee

$5 Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation assessment on all marijuana/drug paraphernalia possession convictions

$200 fee to request a court-appointed attorney (Oklahoma County example)

$15 county indigent defender application fee (county) (except when in Oklahoma County jail)

$40 Oklahoma Indigent Defense System application fee (state) (except when in Oklahoma County jail)

$150 lab fee, if a lab analysis is conducted

$150 state mental health fee, assessed in all drug cases

$25 charge by the district attorney for each felony offense or a $15 charge for each misdemeanor offense

$150 state DNA database fee

$100 trauma care fund fee, also assessed on each drug or DUI case

$155 drug court revolving fund fee

$50 minimum assessment per "criminally injurious" felony counts, for Victims Compensation Fund (VCF), or a $45 VCF charge for all other felonies

$30 minimum fine to the VCF if the offense is a misdemeanor

$50 transportation/service fee (or 57.5 cents per mile if greater), which varies by county where arrest occurred

$25 county-jail booking fee, in some counties

$44 to $52 per day for county jail incarceration. Once inmate is transferred to DOC custody, "per diem" fee stops.

$5 Sheriff's Office service fee on any defendant who has been arrested

$8 county medical co-pay for each treatment; $3 for each medicine dispensed. (Tulsa County example)

$5 to $250 pre-sentencing investigation by Corrections Department in violent felony offender cases, except death penalty cases

All medical and dental costs performed outside the jail and not covered by Medicaid or private insurance.

Costs of jail canteen items, such as snacks, drinks, clothing, certain toiletries.

Serving Time
Convicted inmates in prison or jail pay these charges


$4.75 per transaction to put money on an offender's pre-paid phone account; charged by phone vendor.

$3 per 15-minute phone call, charged through state vendor Value Added Communications.

$50 "return judgment and sentence" fee, for transfer to state custody

$25 per bad check, owed to district attorney

$100 to $300 drug abuse and education assessment, in drug crime cases

$20 to $155 Department of Public Safety revolving fund assessment in traffic or vehicle violation cases.

$6 monthly service fee to contractor JPay to send funds to an inmate

$4.95 to $11.95 to deposit up to $300 in inmate's general "trust fund"

$3.95 to $10.95 to deposit up to $300 for Internet use.

$4.95 per month for county jail-issued debit cards

99 cents per purchase or balance inquiry on debit card

$2.99 per debit card ATM withdrawal

$2 to change a debit card personal identification number

$15 to replace debit card

10 percent to 45 percent in pay garnishments by state for mandatory savings; intended for payment of inmate's fines and fees

12 percent of total owed in court-ordered restitution each year

Up to 50 percent of wages garnished as a "per-diem" fee for inmates in community correctional facilities or community work centers.

57.5 cents per mile (current IRS rate) for Department of Corrections transportation

$2 state medical co-pay for each treatment

All medical or dental costs performed outside the prison and not covered by Medicaid or private insurance.

Costs of prison or jail canteen items, such as snacks, drinks, clothing, certain toiletries.

After Release
Ex-convicts pay these charges


Hundreds of thousands in court fines, if inmate was fined. Examples of maximums:

$1,000 for a first DUI or first misdemeanor possession of hashish or concentrates

$20,000 for felony sale or distribution of under 25 pounds of drugs

$50,000 for cultivating marijuana into hashish or concentrates

$5,100 for second misdemeanor offense of possession of drug paraphernalia

Driver license fees, most collected by DPS

$25 driver-license reinstatement fee

$25 to $75 processing fee per suspension or revocation of driver license.

$200 trauma-care fund fee per suspension or revocation of driver license.

$15 one-time fee for community-based substance abuse revolving fund, assessed for alcohol- or drug-related driver license suspensions or revocations

$50 fee for interlock-restricted driver license

$160 drug and alcohol treatment assessment fee, for contractor

$150 to $360 drug and alcohol treatment course enrollment fee, for contractor

Other costs

$25 per bad check, owed to district attorney

$100 to $300 drug abuse and education assessment, in drug crime cases

$20 to $155 Department of Public Safety revolving fund assessment in traffic or vehicle violation cases.

$80 per month probation supervision fee, including $40 to supervising entity and $40 to district attorney; typically charged for 24 months

$40 community service fee, if charged by county

$80 to $100 per month drug testing fee if sentenced to such testing

$160 to contractor for set-up for an ankle monitor, if required by court to have monitor

$75 per-month to contractor for monitoring with ankle monitor

$150 to $200 to contractor for alcohol interlock device, if sentenced to one

$80 to $100 per-month to contractor for interlock-device monitoring

$80 warrant fee to district court, if warrant is issued.

30 percent of total amount owed added to remaining balance as a collection fee if unpaid fees and fines are turned over to collection agency.

10 percent state-assessed interest on back child support, based on amount of child support owed.

Sources: Oklahoma Public Defender's Office; Oklahoma State Courts Network fee schedule; Oklahoma Department of Corrections; Oklahoma Department of Public Safety; Oklahoma statutes; National Conference of State Legislatures.